Home / Uncategorized / Andrew Luck, Robert Griffin, Trent Richardson, Tyrann Mathieu, Montee Ball Announced As The Heisman Finalists

Andrew Luck, Robert Griffin, Trent Richardson, Tyrann Mathieu, Montee Ball Announced As The Heisman Finalists

Stanford’s Andrew Luck is returning to New York as a Heisman Trophy finalist for the second year in a row, but this time he isn’t the favorite to win. Many people believe that Baylor’s Robert Griffin III is a lock to win the trophy, with the spectacular season he had this year. Andrew luck and Robert Griffin III will join fellow finalists Trent Richardson, Tyrann Mathieu and Montee Ball at the Heisman presentation Saturday night in Manhattan. Andrew Luck is the only repeat finalist, while Robert Griffin is the first player from Baylor to ever get invited to the ceremony.

Griffin told reporters in Waco, Texas, “I’m sure it will be a really close vote,” after watching the announcement with fellow teammates and the coaching staff. Trent Richardson is the second Alabama running back to be a finalist in the past three years. His former teammate Mark Ingram won the prestigious award in 2009. Montee Ball has scored 38 touchdowns for Wisconsin this year and only need two more to touchdowns to pass Barry Sanders’ NCAA record. Asked what it would mean to win the Heisman trophy, Luck told ESPN ”It would mean a lot. I would mean a great deal for the university. Mean a lot to me and a great deal to the football program, as well.”

Andrew Luck had another amazing season, passing for 3,170 yards with 35 touchdowns while leading the Cardinal to an 11-1 record and a second straight BCS bid. Robert Griffin is hot on his heels though with 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns. He has also run for 644 yards and nine touchdowns. Griffin also leads the nation in passer rating (192.3).

A quarterback will likely be the pick, but the question is which quarterback? Luck and Griffin are in a class by themselves this time around, and there’s little doubt the voters will reward them for their breakout years. Who do you think deserves the honor the most, and do you feel the third-place finisher will be closer than we’re giving him credit? Comment below.



About guests

Check Also

Michael Phelps Wins 20th Olympic Medal of His Career

Michael Phelps beat his own Olympic record today by becoming the first Olympic contender to ...